The branch executive committees will first meet this spring to review their members and will continue to meet every two years to determine which members should be listed as inactive.


Many older members, who had been promised lifetime voting rights when they joined the group, cried foul over this new ruling, claiming the organization was punishing them based on age, regardless of how committed they were to the influential body.


The Board also reaffirmed its decision to make sure Academy voters are active in the motion picture industry, but will allow each branch executive committee to determine specific criteria for active voters based on the guidelines initially issued. Those guidelines state that active voters must have worked in the motion picture industry in the last 10 years; worked anytime during three 10-year periods, whether consecutive or not; or have won or been nominated for an Oscar.


“I’m proud of the steps we have taken to ,” said Boone Isaacs in a statement. “However, we know there is more to do as we move forward to make this a more inclusive organization.”


Director and producer Reginald Hudlin, who produced last month’s 88th annual , will join the Directors Branch of the Academy. Frida and Selena screenwriter Gregory Nava will join the Writers Branch, and Jennifer Yuh Nelson, the director of Kung Fu Panda 2 and 3, will join the Short Films and Feature Animation Branch. All three were appointed by Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaacs.


The moves come as a response to criticism that the Academy is too homogenous after its Oscar nominations resulted in the group honoring an all-white group of actors.


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences made good on its promise to diversify , announcing on Tuesday night three new board members and six members to its board committees that provide specific oversight.